3 Fantastic Free Android apps <3

I want to apologize to anyone using an old school dinosaur phone ahead of time. I can sympathize with you. I made a promise to myself that after living in a developing country for 2 ½ years, I would treat myself to a smart phone – I have been thoroughly impressed…

Transdroid – This is an amazing app if you can actually set it up. It basically lets you download torrent files from your phone, and save them to your home computer (remote access if you will.) In theory it should work like this: I am strolling through the store and I have a sudden urge to watch the “Donny Darko” film. I access Transdroid on my phone, search for the torrent, and then wait for it to download on my home computer, presto! I spend a lot of my free time trying to explain this app to my friends, who usually look at me with a puzzled look and then ask what a torrent file is anyway. This is not your average beginner’s app, you may need to ask one of your tech savvy friends t help you set it up, unless you know the ins and outs of port forwarding – I spent a whole evening setting up this app with random help sites and YouTube tutorials. Don’t let the installation process scare you away; this is your mobile ticket to a vast world of information.  

World Tour – I downloaded this app mainly because I was feeling nostalgic about leaving Ukraine and wanted a screen saver of the St. Basil’s Cathedral on my phone.

This app lets you choose from a number of live images from around the world, captured via webcam. The image is then placed as the background for your phone, and the picture updates itself with a fresh view every 30 minutes on its own. At first I thought I was just going to delete this app because it is pretty basic, and I didn’t want it to take up space, but then I found a cozy little camera in the Caribbean. The image I have on my phone is of a resort beach located in paradise. I have come to know the spot intimately. I feel like an anthropologist watching the world through a digital lens. For example: I know the workers come and clean the beach shore every morning before the tourists come out, the average rainfall in paradise is minimal; in a month I have seen it rain once, although recently I have seen more dark clouds. Also, I observed that the tourists are all Caucasian. The main activities are sunbathing, followed by sailing and kayaking. Now, I know what you guys are thinking: I could probably just say that about any beach resort and have a valid description; but I really have a special place in my heart for that little spot, and I suggest you find yourself a new part of the world to explore and observe.

Robotic Guitarist – If you want to learn to play the guitar this is your app! Yes, I was inspired by Cal Newport’s blog post, on whether to be the “owner of a bar,” or the “musician at the bar.” Cal deduces that you get more satisfaction from the latter, and I have to agree. Now, a friend of mine, Miss Jackie from Australia, says the best way to learn to play the guitar is by learning chords, and that is what exactly what you do with Robotic Guitarist. The app is also beautifully interactive; the screen on your phone doubles as a guitar fret board – killer solo excluded :p Rock Star lifestyle optional…  

Google Listen – This app made honorable mention because of its practicality. This app is the source for streaming all of your favorite podcasts. I subscribe to a couple of different podcasts, having the eclectic nature I am endowed with, I go anywhere from philosophy, religion, audio books, to Spanish lessons… all free of course, like all of the other apps I have mentioned.

Note: Some of the apps listed can only be downloaded from an Android Device, and in the particular cases… I provide a link reviewing  the app :p

~ by Joseph Garza on January 20, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
